top of page

AVAILABLE NOW

The Whispering Fog

In this spooky and atmospheric debut contemporary fantasy, Snow-White and Rose-Red meets the modern world after sisters Neve and Rose’s lives are upended when a swamp witch kidnaps Rose. Middle grade fiction for ages 8-12. Perfect for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katherine Arden.

For twelve-year-old Neve, it’s always been she and her older sister against the world, their lives entwined just like sisters in a fairy tale. So, if Rose loves tennis, Neve will play it too—even if secretly she’d rather be home turning cardboard boxes into offbeat art projects. Not even being moved to the piney woods outside Etters, South Carolina, can change what they are to each other—until a mysterious fog seems to swallow up Rose before Neve’s eyes.

A gorgeous, haunting debut about sisterhood and finding your voice.

WhisperingFog hc c (1).jpg

2024-2025 Nominee

scbookaward.png

Buy Now 

Signed Copies
Available

This riveting retelling of Snow White and Rose Red is eerie and atmospheric, grounded in an extraordinary sibling connection that is given room to shift and evolve . . . a splendidly suspenseful and sinister read with a tender heart.

- ALA Booklist

A swamp full of secrets and a quirky cast of characters combine for a delightfully dark debut.

- Kirkus Reviews

A refreshingly honest story about imperfect families, about how sometimes we care best for others by being real with ourselves.

- Laurel Snyder, author of Orphan Island and My Jasper June

Jennings threads the fantasy and horror elements with the book’s realism with a goosebump-inducing precision...hand this to fans of Doll Bones and middle graders looking for a spooky blend of horror and folklore.

- Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

Read Goodreads Reviews:
  • goodreads_icon_50x50

A bewitching tale of sisterly love, finding your voice, and the value of a good tomato. I love this book. 

- Anne Ursu, author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

Evokes the swamps of the southbrimming with mystery, magic and abundant heart. Neve is the perfect guide to this strange and unsettling world and I couldn't put her story down.

- Jo Watson Hackl, author of Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe

Praise for The Whispering Fog

bottom of page