Landra Jennings

Fantasy Fiction for Young Readers

Landra Jennings Cover_edited_edited_edited.jpg

© Bralie Branan

NEW RELEASE

The Whispering Fog

In this spooky and atmospheric debut contemporary fantasy, Snow-White and Rose-Red meets the modern world after sisters Neve and Rose’s lives are upended when a swamp witch kidnaps Rose. For ages 8-12. Perfect for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katherine Arden.

For twelve-year-old Neve, it’s always been she and her older sister against the world, their lives entwined just like sisters in a fairy tale. So, if Rose loves tennis, Neve will play it too—even if secretly she’d rather be home turning cardboard boxes into offbeat art projects. Not even being moved to the piney woods outside Etters, South Carolina, can change what they are to each other—until a mysterious fog seems to swallow up Rose before Neve’s eyes.

A gorgeous, haunting debut about sisterhood and finding your voice.

WhisperingFog hc c (1).jpg

Buy Now 

Signed Copies
Available

A bewitching tale of sisterly love, finding your voice, and the value of a good tomato. I love this book. 

- Anne Ursu, author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

Evokes the swamps of the southbrimming with mystery, magic and abundant heart. Neve is the perfect guide to this strange and unsettling world and I couldn't put her story down.

- Jo Watson Hackl, author of Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe

A refreshingly honest story about imperfect families, about how sometimes we care best for others by being real with ourselves.

- Laurel Snyder, author of Orphan Island and My Jasper June

Jennings threads the fantasy and horror elements with the book’s realism with a goosebump-inducing precision...hand this to fans of Doll Bones and middle graders looking for a spooky blend of horror and folklore.

- Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

This riveting retelling of Snow White and Rose Red is eerie and atmospheric, grounded in an extraordinary sibling connection that is given room to shift and evolve . . . a splendidly suspenseful and sinister read with a tender heart.

- Booklist

A swamp full of secrets and a quirky cast of characters combine for a delightfully dark debut.

- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Whispering Fog

About Landra

MeinFrontofBooksinPink2 (1)_edited.jpg

© Bralie Branan

Landra writes fantasy novels for preteens – ages 8 through 12 – but appreciates readers of all ages!

Landra loved books before she could read – as a toddler in Georgia she'd turn the pages of books for hours. As a preteen, she’d strictly manage the list of library books checked out by her and her younger siblings. She turned this love of management and list-making into an adult career as a management consultant, working in Atlanta and Chicago. However, these days she has returned to her love of books and story, writing fairy-tale influenced fantasy like the stories that so fascinated her as a child.

Landra has an MBA from Northwestern University and an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University where she won the Anne Tews Schwab Scholarship in Excellence in Critical Writing and the Walden Pond Press Scholarship in Middle Grade Fiction and Nonfiction. 

Today, Landra lives with her husband and sons in Greenville, South Carolina but still has a special place in her heart for Chicago, where her children were born. She doesn’t get offended when people mispronounce or misspell her name, but for the record, it’s pronounced like Sandra with an “L”.

 

Upcoming Appearances

December 12th and 13th, 2022. City View Elementary, Mableton, GA

February 25, 2023. 12-4pm. Barnes & Noble, 735 Haywood Road, Greenville , SC

March 23-24th, 2023. SCASL Annual Conference, Columbia, SC

 

Contact Me

I love to hear from readers!

P.O. Box 6322, Greenville, SC 29606 

lbjenningswrites@outlook.com

 

For rights inquiries:

josh@adamsliterary.com at Adams Literary

For media inquiries:

HCCBpublicity@harpercollins.com

  • Instagram
  • goodreads_icon_50x50

© 2023 by L. Jennings. Created with Wix.com